No more pretty pictures…

Durability. Presence. Ease.

I’m not comfortable with “art.”  I’m not comfortable with calling pictures “art.”  I’m not comfortable with calling MY pictures “art.”  But that’s the point of art; it is beholden to the intent of the person who holds it.  

 

Untethered

Clark, Colorado January 2017

 

I’m not comfortable with “art.” I’m not comfortable with calling pictures “art.” I’m not comfortable with calling MY pictures “art.” But that’s the point of art, it is beholden to the intent of the person who holds it.

 

I’m a teacher.  A social studies teacher.  I work with 12 and 13 year olds.  They are a fun, inquisitive, rambunctious group.  They challenge me with their infinite curiosity, and I am perpetually in awe of their various and vacillating perspectives.  I would say that I chose this path a long time ago, but it’s more accurate to say that it chose me.  It has offered so many connections and opportunities, and the obvious by product is, I’ve gotten to try to “save the world.”  And, while I haven’t been able to see all of the world that I would have wanted first hand, that has never stopped me from truly wanting to. I would say that being able to describe, explain and even lead students through all of the stories, the “data,” and the anecdotes about the world, has made me even more curious about seeing it, but learning how to actually capture all of this beauty that surrounds us.

 

Lines Crossed

Steamboat Springs, Colorado February 2017

 

Taking pictures have always been about documenting, whether as stamps on a timeline, push-pins on a map, punctuation marks of a journey.  But sharing the pictures, creating images, giving those to people, and having people acknowledge they are moved or inspired by the pictures, this has brought a different set of punctuation marks to this journey.

 

Aspens Slumber

Kremmling, Colorado January 2017

 

Turbulent water, wide fields, brilliant skies, towering peaks, lonesome trees, man’s footprint on the planet: all have their place their beauty. They all present themselves in different ways; each a different type of punctuation mark. Why do I take the photos that I do?  In the simplest terms, the beauty in these punctuation marks needs to be exposed. The punctuations marks are the points in the journey where a change has taken place; I’ve been able to catch my breath, or shed a layer, or recognized something new, even though I knew the scene a thousand ways before. The deepest blue, an infinite horizon, that giant in the forest, cliffs and rock sculpted by the millennia,  each scene bathed in it’s perfect light, these are the punctuation marks and they deserve to be witnessed.  Dramatic or mundane, there’s beauty in all of them. It is a beauty lies in both the secret and in the sublime. What stirs below the surface if often more beautiful than the surface.  I want to capture both.

 

I have been encouraged by fellow teachers, and artists, to enter an art show. Beth and Kat have been supportive and thoughtful in helping me see my photos as something more than just pictures, as simply push-pins on a map. Gerry is constantly cheering me on.  I am forever grateful for their guidance and support.  Like my students, I find this process, this new information awkard and at times uncomfortable.  I’m not always sure of my next step and the change itself is humbling. But, knowing that my breath can be deeper, that the weights will be let loose, and my sight will be more clear, mean that taking that step is worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

